why are cuts played like that?

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
Jeff Guevin
Please enter the next number in sequence: 1

why are cuts played like that?

Post by Jeff Guevin »

As some of you may know, I'm pretty new to ITM and whistle. I've been working on my cuts, and I haven't figured out why they're played the way they are. Ganked from Brother Steve:

* Use the G finger (3rd finger of your top, normally left, hand) to cut the notes D, E, F# and G.
* Use the B finger (1st finger of your top, normally left, hand) to cut the notes A and B.

What I wonder is, why don't we just cut using the next higher note? (E.g., cut a D with an E, an E with an F#, and so on.) I can see that one argument could be
Hypothetical Whistler wrote:You're not really playing a note, so the pitch doesn't matter. We cut using the traditional convention because it's easiest.
But personally, I find using the next-higher-note method feels more natural under my fingers, and maybe sounds a bit better, too.

And if we decide that cuts can be played that way, what about rolls, which I've seen described as "a cut and a tap"? I know that basically means we'd be making rolls more like turns, but with their quick execution, i'm not sure you could even hear the difference.

All right, tear me a new one! (Or refer me to twelve threads that have discussed this--I found that searching on "cut" turned up a few too many threads to read.)
Last edited by Jeff Guevin on Fri Jul 30, 2004 12:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
glauber

Re: why are cuts played like that?

Post by glauber »

Jeff Guevin wrote:What I wonder is, why don't we just cut using the next higher note?
You may, if you want. It's a question of personal style and "what works" on a given whistle. The players who prefer to use more distant fingers may do so because they're looking for a more dramatic effect or, maybe, it's just easier, fewer muscles to train...

g