Old-timey music that sounds good on whistle

The Ultimate On-Line Whistle Community. If you find one more ultimater, let us know.
squidgirl
antispam: No
Please enter the next number in sequence: 8

Old-timey music that sounds good on whistle

Post by squidgirl »

I've decided that I really like how old-timey tunes sound on my whistle, so want to learn more of them (plus they're mostly easy enough for me to play, which is always rewarding). Unfortunately I'm musically illiterate in this genre -- my CD collection is mostly world music, and somehow I missed out on learning this stuff in grade school or summer camp (or wherever you're s'pozed to...).

I extracted the two-volume Cecil Sharple Appalachian music collection from our local library, and to see which ones I like I've been alternately picking out tunes on my Casiotone (slow, I'm a sucky pianist) or entering them into Barfly and making it play them for me (faster, believe it or not -- I'm much nimbler on the computer's keyboard than the piano's -- plus it will also transpose 'em into whistle-able keys).

But I noticed in perusing the archives that there are some old-time music folks on the board, so I thought I should ask what tunes sound good on the whistle. Or maybe tell me where to find the basic repertoire of old-time tunes that would make me more literate in this genre, or tell me what CDs to get from the library... or whatever you might think would help a newbie figure out which tunes she wants to learn...

Noel
dubhlinn

Post by dubhlinn »

:lol: :lol: ,

"Gime that old time religion.."

Slan,
D.
And many a poor man that has roved,
Loved and thought himself beloved,
From a glad kindness cannot take his eyes.

W.B.Yeats
carrie

Post by carrie »

Cluck Old Hen and Old Joe Clark work very well on whistle. Send me a PM if you'd like a link to hear those. They're loads of fun and very easy.

Carol
dubhlinn

Post by dubhlinn »

:-?
Carol,
It's been kiling me for a while now.
Amelia or Amy?